Canada Finally Switched to the 2021 Version of The National Occupational Classification (NOC)

What does that mean?

It means that

  • the current NOC 2016 skill type and skill level structure (NOC 0, A, B, C and D) has been replaced with a 6-category system representing the Training, Education, Experience and Responsibilities (TEER) needed to work in an occupation

  • 4-digit occupation codes have become 5-digit codes

  • the eligibility criteria for all programs that use the NOC have been updated

What are the new TEER categories?

All 3 Express Entry programs (Canadian Experience Class (CEC), Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP) and Federal Skilled Trades Program (FSTP)) will now use TEER categories.

Here is how the skill type categories of the NOC 2016 system match up with the new TEER categories of the NOC 2021 system.

​TEER category

Skill type or level


Skill level 0


Skill level A


Skill level B


Skill level B


Skill level C


Skill level D

Which programs will be affected?

These programs will have updated eligibility requirements because of this change:

  • Express Entry

  • Federal Skilled Worker Program

  • Canadian Experience Class

  • Federal Skilled Trades Program

  • Atlantic Immigration Program

  • Provincial Nominee Program

  • caregivers programs

  • Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot

  • Agri-Food Pilot

  • out-of-status construction workers

  • International Mobility Program

  • Temporary Foreign Worker Program

Do I need to update my Express Entry profile?

It depends on whether you’ve already submitted your Express Entry profile or not.

If you have not submitted an Express Entry profile and are planning to do submit one on or after November 16, 2022, you must use the new NOC 2021 system when selecting your occupation’s code.

But, if you have already submitted a profile, but have not been sent an invitation to apply (ITA), you must update your Express Entry profile. You only need to search the NOC 2021 list and update your profile with your TEER category and 5-digit occupation code.

If you have received an ITA before the transitioning date (November 16, 2021), you must submit your application using NOC 2016.

Those who receive an ITA in the next Express Entry draw and after will now have to apply using NOC 2021.

Keep in mind that you will not receive an ITA unless your profile is updated.

Why choose us?

We have been helping many applicants become permanent residents for years and have a high success rate. Our clients from almost 20 different countries have experienced this with us and you can be the next successful. We know how to prepare documents and how to make your immigration process smooth and easy for you. Contact us HERE to start the process today!

If you are not a Canadian Permanent Resident yet and you are not sure what the best way for you to immigrate to Canada is, please fill out our assessment form HERE and we will get back to you with your possible options.

12 views0 comments